A European Steampunk Convention

2»

Comments

• OK thanks for the info. I'll lobby on.

The "rights" question is utterly silly and smallminded.
  • Hi,

I hope I have the right to post here although I'm a complete noob to your forum... please forgive me if that is not the case... (I came here through Jack's advertising on a German board). I'm an avid steampunk/-fantasy/-horror P&P player and reader, so I'd obviously like to see more action going on in this field in Europe :)

Location-wise the two cities that came to my mind immediately where Vienna and - even more so - Prague. Vienna is my home-base, so I might be a bit biased there ;-) but the flair of the city in my opinion fits steampunk well; also, it is well connected via trains and planes.

But even more than Vienna, I'd think Prague would be the ideal city. It is absolutely beautiful, the baroque and art deco buildings and places perfectly fit the steampunk idea, it's well-accessible (airport and trains), you can find good (and also stylish) accomodation for very reasonable prices (at least from a Western European point of view), many Praguers speak English very well (so no language problems for non-natives), and it seems to be a very open-minded city (so no raised eyebrows at a bunch of "nerds" running around in costume). Also, Prague was already a very interesting and famous city in the "steam period", with a lot of local lore that could be picked up for themes for a convention.

The Czech fantasy and gaming scene seems to be thriving - but sadly I'm not acquainted personally with Czech steampunkers. So I don't know how I could be of help here... I guess I just wanted to say: Prague!!!111! ;-)
  • Oh don't worry about being new (welcome!), you're more than welcome to post all over the forum!

And you're right! Prague would be a great idea!
  • Hey Miss Winterfield,