Lost Cause of the Confederacy

I'm writing a story about the "Lost Cause" of the Confederacy. Timely, I think, given all the statue-toppling in the USA.

I studied the topic in university for a course on American history, so I have some notes I can draw on for the actual history.

I'd like to ask your recommendations for examples of the Lost Cause in alternate history.

The idea of the article is to caution against letting elements of the Lost Cause mythology seep into steampunk and alternate history. I know there's a huge amount of alternate history about a Confederate victory in the Civil War. After WW2, it's probably the most popular alternate-history topic. But it's not a field I specialize in, so I welcome your recommendations -- which are the best (worst) examples of alternate history that glorify or romanticize the Confederacy?

Comments

• Not exactly glorifying but certainly a good read: Stars & Stripes Forever (Stars & Stripes, Book 1) by Harry Harrison.

• And, of course! - The Guns of the South by Harry Turtledove.

• Thanks!

• It's an interesting question, because the key to the "Lost Cause" of the Confederacy is that, well, the cause was lost. I wrote a literature review of works of history about the Lost Cause, and one thing that really stood out to me was that for most Lost Causers, them being part of the US was accepted. The Lost Cause was sort of a longing for a romanticized past that never really existed, but wasn't really an active desire for secession

And that's hard to find in A-H, because the central conceit of nearly all alternate history featuring the US Civil War is that the Confederacy wins. It's hard to have a "lost cause" if the cause isn't lost! And a trend in more recent alternate history about the Civil War tends to go in the opposite direction - featuring a Union victory as a good thing, and the "alternate-ness" focusing on reconstruction