Starship prototype explodes

edited May 2020 in Speakeasy

This sucks:

SpaceX's latest Starship prototype exploded just after an engine test Friday (May 29), erupting in a dramatic fireball at the spaceflight company's South Texas proving grounds. 

The Starship SN4 prototype exploded at about 1:49 p.m. CDT (2:49 p.m. EDT/1849 GMT) at SpaceX's test facility near Boca Chica, Texas [...]. The explosion occurred about a minute after a short test of its Raptor rocket engine, but it was unclear what caused the conflagration.

It's not clear yet what caused the explosion.

As its name suggests, the Starship SN4 vehicle is the latest in a series of stainless steel prototypes SpaceX has built to test technologies required for a truly massive space launch system: the 165-foot-tall (50 meters) Starship rocket and its Super Heavy megabooster. That vehicle is the one SpaceX hopes will carry up to 100 people at a time to space and, eventually, on to Mars.

Fortunately there was no one on board.

Comments

Sign In or Register to comment.